Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Caution: www.bookschristian.com

I needed to order books for use in my church's Men's Fellowship. When I need books, I always utilize price-comparison engines (like this one). This time, a site called BooksChristian.Com had a really good price.

Since I'd never heard of them, I did some searching. I found that they were new, and had ads and mentions all over. So I decided to try them out. As my order was over $100, I was eligible for free shipping. Since I wanted to be sure to get it by this coming Saturday, I paid extra for "expedited" shipping.

That was October 20, about 6:30am.

As of today, the status is still "Processing."

So I wrote their Customer Service, inquiring. I wrote on the 25th, the 27th, and today, the 28th.

No answer. Not even an acknowledgment of the inquiry.

I'll update this when anything moves, but for now — I know a lot (all?) of you are book-lovers. You only get one chance at a first impression, and theirs on me is not good.

UPDATE: at 3:30pm PT today I heard back from them. They perfectly nicely apologized, had found the order, saw that it had been sitting in the warehouse, for shipment, for several days. The representative notified the shipping manager that the order needs to ship soon, and refunded my shipping.

I'll let you know when it arrives.


Anonymous said...

It may be time to cancel the order. At a minimum you're due a refund for "expedited" shipping.

Andrew D said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
threegirldad said...

Yikes! Thanks for the warning.

Andrew D said...

From one book lover to another - thanks for the heads up, Dan!

I like fetchbook better than Addall. One reason is they do a better job of filtering out *new* booksellers that have no established track record.

Every few months there seems to be a new scam artist selling books/media over the internet. They follow the same pattern - unbelievably great pricing, heavily advertised website and their results appear in many search engines. Almost makes me think that the same dishonest people are registering a different domain names.

Al said...

Only slightly off topic...

We will be giving a book away soon on our blog. We promise to deliver.

al sends

Terry Rayburn said...


Don't know if you noticed, but in the upper left-hand corner of their website is a "live chat" feature. Might be worth a try. A human in the hand is worth two emails in the bush.